Sunday Puddings : One Crust Apple Pie

Hello everyone!

I hope you are well and enjoyed my post about my French Recreation blog. I loved being able to recreate one of my favourite French bakes with you and if you haven’t caught up with it yet, click here.

Continuing my Sunday Puddings series, I wanted to share with you an easy-to-make family favourite, One Crust Apple Pie. It is a pudding I have made since I was about 12 and was one of the first puddings I ever made on my own. The recipe originally comes from Delia’s Summer Collection, where she makes the pie with gooseberries. But as I soon discovered, once you master the simple shortcrust pastry, it is such a versatile recipe as you can use whatever fruit you want to as a filling. I tend to use apples as they are easy to get your hands on and are one of my favourites cooked fruits. To find out how to make this deliciously simple pie, read on.

And to accompany this recipe, I have attached one of my songs from ESB Monthly Bake April, Paris in the Spring. It is a light hearted frolic about romance in Paris in the Spring and adds a springtime step into making this fresh pudding!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One Crust Apple Pie

Ingredients

For the pastry

6 oz (175g) plain flour

3 oz (75g) cold salted butter

A glass of cold water

For the filling

2 to 3 Bramley apples (or alternative cooking apples)

1 tbsp of sugar, per apple

An egg, beaten

2 tbsps. demerara sugar

How to make the bake

  1. First make the pastry.  Sift the flour into a large bowl and add in the butter. Rub the butter into the flour to make a breadcrumb-like mixture where the butter and flour are one mix. Then, use a fork to mix in a tablespoon of water at a time until the dough starts to cling around the fork. When it looks like it will come together in a ball, bring it together with your hands and put into a sandwich bag or wrap in greaseproof paper, and chill for 30 minutes or until you need it.
  2. While the pastry is chilling, prepare the apples. Peel and cut each apple into thin slices and then carefully stir in the sugar to coat it and leave it aside while you roll the pastry.
  3. Flour a clean surface and roll the pastry into a rough circle shape. It doesn’t need to be the same thickness all the way around but it does need to be a good circle shape to be able to make the pie. Transfer the pastry to a buttered baking tray and pile the apples into the middle of the circle with a spoon or your hands. Make the fruit into a mound and then bring the edges of the pie in, over the fruit so you have a roughly formed volcanic shaped pie.
  4. Having formed the pie, whisk the egg with a little water to make an egg wash and brush the pastry to coat it. Then sprinkle on the demerara sugar around the edge of the pastry and put into the oven at 180’C for 30 – 40 minutes. The pie is baked when the pastry is crisp and golden and the apples are soft in the middle when you stab it with a sharp knife. Don’t worry if there is a bit of burnt sugar around the side of the tray as the excess sugar tends to catch – just scoop it off when you take it out of the oven.
  5. Take out of the oven and leave to cool for 10 minutes before serving with your choice of cream or ice-cream!

Thank you for popping by my blog and joining me for another Sunday pudding recipe. I would love to know if you give it a go, and if you do, don’t forget to tweet me a picture @EnglishSingingB or tag me in an Instagram post @englishsingingbaker.

I look forward to seeing you next time but in the meantime,

Happy Baking!

English Singing Baker x

 

 

One thought on “Sunday Puddings : One Crust Apple Pie

Leave a Reply

