ESB visits…Biscuiteers Shop and Icing Café in Notting Hill

Hello everyone!

I hope you are well and enjoying some of the glimpses of spring we have been seeing recently. If you fancy another post to tickle your fancy, my last post about my Top 5 TV cooks is now available to read here!

In this post, I wanted to tell you about a visit I had to the Biscuiteers Icing Café and Shop in Notting Hill. With the help of the Evening Standard list of best bakeries in London, I compiled a list of bakeries I wanted to visit in London. For my 21st birthday, being a bakery enthusiast, I thought it might be fun to visit a selection of my favourites as a sort of ‘pub crawl.’ I really enjoyed visiting some different places and this was one of them.

To accompany this post, I thought it would only be right to have a song inspired by sugar and sweet delicacies so here is Toot Sweets by the brilliant Sherman Brothers from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!

About The Biscuiteers

First things first, who are the Biscuiteers? To the blogging and vlogging world, the Biscuiteers are a household name in the high class biscuit world, with their instagram-able branding and immaculately decorated, you guessed it, biscuits. The company was started in 2007 and in the last 10 years, they have created anything you can think of in biscuit form. From tailor-made fashion pieces to ornate china cups and plates, they create works of art and are a quirky alternative to a bunch of flowers or bottle of wine as a gift. Having heard so much about them and found that there was a chance to ice your own biscuit in their icing café, I was intrigued and keen to discover the shop for myself.

My Experience

The Biscuiteers have two shops – one in Notting Hill and the other in Northcote Road – as well as a global internet empire. Their Notting Hill shop front, unfortunately is, at the time we visit it, obscured by roadworks which is shame given how beautifully decorated it is in white and black design. To me, it looks like a dolls house or a house built in Toyland and you would not be surprised to learn that the shelves are full of beautifully iced biscuits. Having stepped inside, it is like an Aladdin’s cave of iced biscuits. The designs are so accurate and beautiful and the boxes they come in are just as stunning! If you think of anything possible you might want designed on a biscuit, they probably have what you’re thinking of.

After a good look around, we start to think about the Icing Café. Like the Pottery Café chain of shops that allow you to choose a plate or bowl to decorate and take home, the Biscuiteers offer a range of icing classes to have a go at designing your own biscuits. As well as offering 2 – 5 hour courses for more dedicated icers, any one can walk in from the street and ice a biscuit for £15 for 3 and take them away with them. This is what I did.

Having decided to do a DIY Icing Café selection of biscuits, we are presented with a cake-stand, piled high with biscuits of different shapes and a bowl full of beautiful pastel-coloured icing in individual piping bags. The shapes are very various and go from the traditional ginger bread man to a more quirky bunch of flowers or hot air balloon. I choose a bunch of flowers having been inspired by the mother’s day display and having chosen, I get to work on the icing. After a quick demonstration from a biscuiteer, we are all ready and the icing bags are easy to work with once you get the hang of it.

It is all a very civilised affair and sipping a drink while decorating, makes it a very pleasant experience! I ice a bunch of flowers and move onto a circle and decide to ice it like a birthday badge as it is an experience to celebrate my birthday. Once the biscuits are iced and finished, they are put in the oven to harden for 10 – 15 minutes before being popped into a beautiful biscuiteers box.

Pleased with my finished products, we walk away very happy and with beautifully iced biscuits. On the way out, we are encouraged to join a more extensive class but I am very pleased to have been able to just ice one for fun,  with all their icing at my finger tips. For £15, it was a very enjoyable experience and gives you the opportunity to feel like a biscuiteer for an hour or so and gain inspiration from their beautiful branding and displays.

Thank you for reading this post. If you are interested in going to the DIY Icing Café yourself, go to the Biscuiteers website for more information or click here.  Let me know if you enjoyed this post by commenting below or liking it and I can let you in on my other bakery adventures.

See you for my next post but in the meantime,

Happy Baking!

English Singing Baker x

 

 

 

One thought on “ESB visits…Biscuiteers Shop and Icing Café in Notting Hill

Leave a Reply

